DIY – Vintage and Lace Dreamcatcher

When I was a little girl I had a dreamcatcher, made for me by a local Native American man.  I was told it would help to catch all my bad dreams and give me good dreams.  According to this website, “The nature of the Dream Catcher will attract all sorts of dreams to its webs. When bad dreams come, they do not know the way through the web and get caught in the webbing where the first light of day causes them to melt away and perish. The good dreams knowing the way go through the center of the web and slide down the feather to the sleeper below.”

My grandfather was very dark skinned, with dark eyes and black hair. There is a rumor in the family that he was Native American (he has since passed), but that given the stigmas that came with being Native, the family kept it a secret. I have tried to trace our lineage back to see how far it leads, and can only get a couple generations before getting stuck. I do have other family who is Native American. Even without any of that, I think dreamcatchers are beautiful, and the story and meaning behind them is enough to hang one above the bed and sleep a little better at night.

diy dreamcatcher

 

A few months ago, I made this dreamcatcher for my youngest daughter.  I used a vintage crochet doily that I purchased at an antique store for the webbing.

diy dreamcatcher

I also used strips of deerskin leather lacing, some vintage lace, a few feathers, and a bit of yarn.

diy dreamcatcher

The circular framing apparently works best as an embroidery hoop, but I just used what I had on hand – some sturdy wiring.  And this is what I came up with!  It was really simple to make, and everybody loves it, especially my daughter.  Let me know what you think in the comments!

diy dreamcatcher

 

Leave a Reply

